by Emylee

Diamonds are a natural wonder. Unique geological occurrences produce this precious resource, and because they are a natural product, no two are exactly alike. Even the finest diamonds feature microscopic inclusions (internal characteristics) or blemishes (external characteristics). The GIA Diamond Clarity Scale was created as a universally accepted method of grading the clarity of a stone, with 11 grades from “flawless” (FL) – which means no visible inclusions or blemishes at 10x magnification, to stones with flaws that could affect brilliance or transparency. Below are 6 categories that make up the grading scale:

  • Flawless (FL)
    No inclusions and no blemishes visible under 10x magnification
  • Internally Flawless (IF)
    No inclusions visible under 10x magnification
  • Very, Very Slightly Included (VVS1 and VVS2)
    Inclusions so slight they are difficult for a skilled grader to see under 10x magnification
  • Very Slightly Included (VS1 and VS2)
    Inclusions are observed with effort under 10x magnification, but can be characterized as minor
  • Slightly Included (SI1 and SI2)
    Inclusions are noticeable under 10x magnification
  • Included (I1, I2, and I3)
    Inclusions are obvious under 10x magnification which may affect transparency and brilliance. Not carried at Gemvara.


When buying an engagement ring, know that all of Gemvara’s diamonds are SI2 (Slightly Included) or higher on the diamond clarity chart, with flaws that tend to be invisible to the untrained or naked eye. Since most flaws are imperceptible and don’t affect the outward appearance of a stone, clarity is considered the least important factor in choosing your stone.

Powered by Zendesk